Piper Fellows

The Piper Fellows sabbatical program acknowledges the never-ceasing demands of nonprofit leadership and offers opportunities for Maricopa County leaders to retool, refresh, and renew. A Piper Fellowship offers the potential for a $90,000 Piper Trust commitment to a Fellow’s organization.

  • Piper Trust awards up to $30,000 for study and travel expenses to support the professional development of outstanding leaders of nonprofit organizations serving Maricopa County.
  • A Piper Fellow’s sabbatical allows work release time that can be taken all at once or divided into several smaller projects or programs. Fellow candidates are encouraged to explore educational and professional programs and visit model program sites and leaders across the nation.
  • The Trust awards $10,000 for staff and board professional development.
  • A Fellowship makes the Fellow’s organization eligible for a grant up to $50,000 for a Piper Fellows Organizational Enhancement Award either during the sabbatical or within six months of completion.

2015 Piper Fellows

Marc Ashton
Tara Jackson
Mattie Lord
Jeffory Morris
Poulson Reed
Dan Schay

2014 Piper Fellows

Jan Dougherty
Vincent VanVleet

2013 Piper Fellows

Kathryn Blake
Patricia Klahr
Kimberlie McCue
Cindy Ornstein

2012 Piper Fellows

Carlos Galindo-Elvira
Christine Girard
Terry Hines
Doug Hirano
David Noble

2011 Piper Fellows

Barbara Fenster
Karl Gentles
MaryLynn Mack
Darlene Newsom
Jared Sakren

2010 Piper Fellows

Sunnee O’Rork
Martin Quintana
Avein Saaty-Tafoya
Julie Zalimas

2009 Piper Fellows

Amy Caffarello
Elaine McGinn
Paul Mittman
Peggy Mullan
Mary Peterson

2008 Piper Fellows

Edmundo Hidalgo
Mark Nelson
Daniel Scoggin
John Swagert, MD

2007 Piper Fellows

Blase Bova
Lisa Glow
Theresa Leon
Connie Phillips
Kurt Sheppard

2006 Piper Fellows

Rob Crawford
Michelle MacLennan
Milon F. Pitts
Marsha Porter
Keith A. Thompson

2005 Piper Fellows

Joe Baker
Richard “Mike” Bell
Michelle R. Dionisio
Juanita Howard
Kathy Nugent

2004 Piper Fellows

Robin Dunn Marcos
Laura Larson-Huffaker
Katrina Mueller Pappas
Luz Sarmina

2003 Piper Fellows

Pamela Martin
Kenneth Schutz

2002 Piper Fellows

Janice Ertl
Chris Tompkins

2001 Piper Fellows

Santino Bernasconi
Chevy Humphrey
Mary Lynn Kasunic
Linda Searfoss
Tamara Woodbury