Page Header Graphic

Piper Trust Selects Four New 2010 Piper Fellows

2010 Piper Fellows Group Photo

From left, Julie Zalimas, Sunnee O’Rork, Martin Quintana and Avein Tafoya

PHOENIX (December 1, 2010)—The Virginia G. Piper Charitable Trust has named the 10th class of Piper Fellows, an exceptional group of nonprofit leaders selected to undertake self-designed sabbaticals to build their leadership and organizational effectiveness. The 41 Piper Fellows named since 2001 have created a strong, enduring network of Maricopa County nonprofit executives.

The 2010 Piper Fellows are Sunnee O’Rork, executive director, Arizona Museum for Youth; Martin Quintana, chief operating officer, Chicanos Por La Causa; Avein Saaty-Tafoya, chief executive officer, Adelante Healthcare; and Julie Zalimas, manager of children’s services, EMPACT – Suicide Prevention Center.

“Piper Fellowships provide these leaders access to national leadership programs and then solidifies the learning through the powerful tool of shared learning among the Fellows,” said Judy Jolley Mohraz, PhD, president and CEO of the Piper Trust. “This low tech/high touch program provides benefits beyond just the individual’s fellowship year.”

The newly selected Piper Fellows will complete individual sabbaticals in 2011 and join the whole group of Piper Fellows that meet regularly and share challenges and sensitive leadership issues, finding advice and support on an ongoing basis. Up to five new Piper Fellows are selected each year.

A Piper Fellowship offers each participating organization potential awards up to $90,000. The first $30,000 is intended to provide selected professionals with expenses for study, travel and opportunities to visit best practice sites around the country. The Trust also awards up to $10,000 for new or increased professional development for the staff of each awardee organization. In addition, Fellows are eligible to apply for a $50,000 Organization Enhancement Grant to implement some aspect of their fellowship projects.

A committee of three community leaders, including one Piper Fellow from the previous year’s class, made Piper Fellow recommendations from among 16 applications. Judges this year were Dr. Robert F. Ashcraft, executive director and associate professor, ASU Lodestar Center for Philanthropy & Nonprofit Leadership; Dr. Steven G. Seleznow, president and CEO, Arizona Community Foundation; and 2009 Piper Fellow Amy Caffarello, executive director,  St. Joseph the Worker.